Home » Uncategorized » What is Your Positivity Ratio? (From the book To Sell is Human) Take the Positivity Self Test!

What is Your Positivity Ratio? (From the book To Sell is Human) Take the Positivity Self Test!

To Sell is Human by Dan Pink.    Image

If you know me at all, you know I am a fan of Dan Pink.  His books (A Whole New Mind and Drive) can help educators create classrooms that learn and environments that motivate students.  The Elm Place 8th grade team is currently reading Drive and those copies will move around the school over the next few months.

With that said, To Sell is Human was a reread for me this weekend.  When the book was first released in late December, I plowed through it without really processing every page.  This weekend, I reread the book using the frame of education, school, teaching, learning, leading (you get the idea) .  Sitting at the computer now-I am glad I reread the book.

One item that I keep thinking about comes from Pink’s chapter on Buoyancy.  Pink describes buoyancy as “a quality that combines gritiness of spirit and sunniness of outlook”.  We all encounter rejection in our line of work.  Pink would argue buoyancy is what keeps us going.  The particular part of the chapter that I keep replaying in my head deals with what Dr. Barbara Fredrickson describes as the positivity ratio.

The magic positivity ratio is at least 3 to 1 (but not over 11 to 1).  That is the number of positive emotions to negative emotions during a given day.  She identifies ten positive emotions-joy, gratitude, serenity, interest, hope, pride, amusement, inspiration, awe, and love-which can all be identified and purposefully displayed throughout the day.  I just wrote the emotions in my Field Notes!

While she has written a whole book about this ratio, much can be learned about our own ratio by taking her Positivity Self Test.  The assessment takes 2-3 minutes and will provide your own positivity ratio for a given day.  You can also learn more about her book (Positivity) and how you can track your ratio over time.

I’ll share more from the book (To Sell is Human) over time as I reflect on the information presented.  Who knows, this could be another book study for the EP Team.

