Home » Uncategorized » Pay it Forward: Using Graphic Novels in the Classroom by Mary Catherine Miller

Pay it Forward: Using Graphic Novels in the Classroom by Mary Catherine Miller

Nerdy Book Club

This week, I taught Shaun Tan’s The Arrival to my undergraduate students.  I’m currently working on an article with a few colleagues in which we’re analyzing ways to teach social justice by incorporating graphic novels into our classrooms.  My colleagues have taught The Arrival in K-12 classrooms and I’ve had the unique experience of teaching the graphic novel to college undergraduates, many of whom plan to be educators. For my first “pay it forward” post, I wanted to provide practical applications for graphic novels for those of you who are teachers.

To introduce The Arrival, I’ll give you Shaun Tan’s own description of his work (taken from his website):

 

The Arrival is a migrant story told as a series of wordless images that might seem to come from a long forgotten time. A man leaves his wife and child in an impoverished town, seeking better prospects in…

View original post 530 more words

One thought on “Pay it Forward: Using Graphic Novels in the Classroom by Mary Catherine Miller

Comments are closed.