Home » Uncategorized » First Day Failures and How to Function Better on Future First Days

First Day Failures and How to Function Better on Future First Days

Teaching with Technology vs. Traditionally

2015-516-main-image.1432171452

In college I remember vividly discussing and dreaming about my first day in my classroom.  The students would come in excited for the new year and it would be a magical first day for the students and myself (their teacher).  Maybe your first day as a teacher was different but as you can probably imagine my first day was far from this!

On my first day my kindergarten students walked into a class with perfectly laid out nametags, goodies on their desks, and supplies neatly in a row.  By the end of the day I quickly came to learn that I was not just teaching but teaching actual kids and that kindergarten students don’t always know their names.  By 4:00 pm their name tags were all over the classroom or on their new friends, supplies were all over the classroom, and by the way it’s NEVER a good idea to…

View original post 232 more words

